Homemade Biscuits

My kids helped me make biscuits for breakfast this morning. We did not have any cans of biscuits or Bisquick. We made it from scratch and it didn’t really take that long! It was simple with ingredients we had on hand.

When my Father passed away my sister and I cleaned out his kitchen which had a bunch of stuff from my grandmother in it. I found a rolling pin and a rolling mat with recipes and markings for pies and such. I knew as soon as I saw it I wanted that set. I asked my sister and she said sure! I was so excited to use it and have it to pass down to my children.

Today my kids got to help me make Baking Powder biscuits from the recipe on that mat! The recipe is simple and the outcome was pretty good not to mention very frugal.

Baking Powder Biscuits

2 cups sifted flour
1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
1/2 Tsp Salt
1/4 Cup Shortening
3/4 Milk

Preheat the Oven to 450.

Mix the sifted flour (which I sifted before measuring), the baking powder, and salt. cut in the shortening until coarse, and add the milk stirring until incorporated.

Dump onto a floured surface and add extra flour on top. I then proceeded to hit the dough with the rolling pin until it was semi- flat. I rolled it a little until it was about 1/2 an inch thick.

Cut with biscuit/cookie cutter or a glass if you don’t have one. Grease a cookie sheet with butter (I just rubbed a stick of butter on the area I thought the biscuits would take up.

Place the Biscuits on the cookie sheet slightly touching. Bake in oven for 12 minutes. Remove from oven and brush 1/2 tablespoon of butter on biscuits. (The butter on the bottom of the pan and brushed on the biscuits is optional but I think it gives the biscuits a little extra something)

We served them with Precooked Sausage Patties from Walmart, Butter and Strawberry Jelly.

Yield For us was 7 biscuits. We used a big cutter

The cost you ask?
Flour .12¢
Baking Powder .05¢
Salt .01¢
Shortening .17¢
Milk .10¢
Butter .10¢

Approximately .55 in ingredients (of course you could add all the time Maybe 5 minutes in active cooking and electricity)

.08 A Biscuit! We had Sausage with it so I will add .33 a pattie. about $1.34 so our total for this breakfast minus the Jelly was $1.89 for the meal or .47 Each!

It probably took us about 20 minutes total to get this breakfast together. Had I gone to McDonalds it would have cost $4 plus tax. 3 of us had an extra biscuit although I am sure we would have been fine with just one.

I hope this Challenges you to make something from home, Save money and build a memory together.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Biscuits

Leave a Reply

